Who were the previous Golden Boy award winners and where are they now?

    As you know, 18-year-old Spaniard Pedri from Barcelona has added his name to the ranks of the famous winners of the prestigious Golden Boy award, which is presented by the Italian edition of Tuttosport to the best young footballer in Europe under the age of 21. He became the 19th winner in a row, and will receive his well-deserved award on December 15 in Turin. Let’s remember the first winners of this award.

    Do you agree with this year’s winner Pedri? Who has chances to win in the next year, in your opinion? Is this award actually important or not? You may try to guess or predict who will win in a year using 22Bet legal bookmaker website. 

    2007 – Sergio Aguero

    Aguero’s career has evolved ambiguously, but it cannot be denied that the Argentine was (for many and still is) a great player. He has achieved a lot at Manchester City, where he rewrote most (if not all!) Goalscoring achievements. Last summer, Sergio, along with his friend Lionel Messi, led the Argentine national team to triumph in the America’s Cup. Now the striker is a Barcelona player, but things are heading towards the fact that he will soon announce his retirement due to heart problems.

    2006 – Cesc Fabregas

    The Spaniard won the Golden Boy while playing for Arsenal in London. Then he left for Barcelona, ​​then there was Chelsea, and now he plays for AS Monaco. Fabregas is one of the less “spectacular” players to ever win the Golden Boy, but he is also one of the smartest on the field. At 34, he is still active at AS Monaco, although he plays a more minor role in it.

    2005 – Lionel Messi

    Leo showed himself in full and in all its glory, becoming the owner of many both team and personal awards and trophies. The mansions in his collection are undoubtedly the six Ballon d’Or and the six Golden Boots of Europe’s top scorer. He was also able to go down in history of his native Barcelona, ​​becoming the club’s top scorer (672 goals). However, this summer, Messi was forced to move to PSG, where he does not hide his desire to win the Champions League again, which he did with Barcelona four times before.

    2004 – Wayne Rooney

    Rooney has achieved to be regarded as one of the most outstanding strikers in Manchester United history. He won the English Championship five times with the team and became the winner of the Champions League in 2008. He retired as the best-ever scorer for Manchester United (253 goals) and England (53 goals). Wayne is now the manager of Derby County, a club in serious financial trouble.

    2003 – Raphael van der Vaart

    The Dutchman has had an excellent career, although he cannot be said to have entered the cohort of outstanding players in modern football. He shone at Ajax, was in full view at Hamburg and Real Madrid. Together with the national team, he became the bronze medalist of the 2004 European Championship and won the silver medal of the 2010 World Championship. Van der Vaart played out in the Danish Midtjylland, with which he won the national championship in the 2017/2018 season. In 2019, Rafael put on his boots again to enjoy football with Chiclana Industrial, a team from the city of Chiclana de la Frontera, which is home to his grandparents.

    Recent Articles

    Related Stories

    Leave A Reply

    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Stay on op - Ge the daily news in your inbox